To wire or not to wire….

I was just browsing through a new friend on FBs photos. Diny Van de Lustgraff does the most beautiful things with wire, beads and jewels.

My experiences with wire are very limited. Alison Bickell sent me some wire in a soup challenge earlier this year. I spent a whole lot of time musing over what the hell to do with it. I even downloaded a couple of books as well and I was still not convinced I could do anything pretty with it.

I usually use headpins in earrings and some simple charm bracelets and my wire wrapping skills are not great. I usually end up with broken nails, scratched fingers and lots of cursing.

In the end I did make some swirly bits and a little wrapping around a focal. Photo below. I was happy with my little creation and then until I realise how much better at it my crafty friends are. It’s great to see what can be achieved and I envy their skills.

I really don’t have the patience to learn another crafty skill so I will stick with my beadweaving for now. I am going to add to my list of things to do though as I find it interesting.

Dee

Dee Wingrove-Smith
WingSmith’s Beaded Creations

Leave a Reply

