Daily Archives: September 20, 2012

Book Review Time – Sabine Lippert’s Beaded Fantasies

Hello everyone… it has been a busy few weeks with  lots happening.  I had a holiday, I had shoulder surgery and have been at home recovering.  Due to the surgery I haven’t been beading very much, and what I have done has taken 3 times longer than usual as I keep having to take breaks.

On the upside, I have finally gotten around to reading some of the books that Lark have kindly sent me to review 😉

The first one I am reviewing is Sabine Lippert’s Beaded Fantasies.

I did actually buy a copy of this before my review copy arrived and I actually made one of the designs from it too… I made Verticals – photo below.

 

Now onto the book.  I mostly enjoyed this book, the diagrams and photos are clear although at time the instructions are not so easy to follow for complete beginners.  Thankfully I could understand most of the designs, although I have only made the one.    I really like the way that chatons and rivolis are captured to show more of the crystals, although I have yet to try it out and see if secure.   I have found in the past that customers tend to fiddle a lot with their jewellery, and as such I am not sure whether this technique of holding in the crystals would stand up.  I will try to get my hands on some chatons to try it out, I think I would like to try the Three Crosses Necklace first – the simplicity and elegance of that particular design really appeals to me.

The book is a glorious riot of colour and beautiful beads and crystals and is lovely to read, there are a lot of tips and new techniques for me to try and I look forward to being able to get stuck back into it very soon.

You can buy your own copy of the book at Amazon – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sabine-Lipperts-Beaded-Fantasies-Beadweaving/dp/145470246X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1348157489&sr=8-1

Or if you pop along to my beady page on facebook –https://www.facebook.com/wingsmithsbeadedcreations and help me get up to 800 likes I am giving away this review copy to a random fan.  Get over there…