Book Review – Showcase 500 rings

Hello everyone, I hope you all have had a great festive season and if you have been able to take time off to be with family and friends, and that you have made the most of that precious time.  It has been a while since I last blogged, and my life moves at a fair pace sometimes and I really need to diarise a monthly blog update – maybe that should be my resolution for 2013?

Anyway onwards, firstly I am having a sale in my cabochon shop on Etsy – 50% off if you enter the code given on my home page: www.etsy.com/shop/wingsmithscabochons

Secondly I have had time this week to properly look at one of the books I was sent to review.  Lark Jewelry & Beading’s – Showcase 500 rings.   Wow, such a massive book and such amazing beautiful rings to look at.

You can find a copy of the book at Amazon, and I would really recommend it – such fabulous pieces to look at consider.  -http://www.amazon.co.uk/Showcase-500-Rings-Series/dp/1454702885/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1356638944&sr=8-1

One of my favourites is on page 312 and is a set of wedding rings in yellow gold and palladium by Sakurako Shimizu – they are simple and elegant and so, so beautiful, Sakurako has a blog here http://sakurakoshimizu.blogspot.co.uk/

I do-B

The book is jurored by Bruce Metcalf and I am in awe of how he managed to decide which rings to include – I like almost all of the 500 rings inside the book.

On page 253 is another favourite of mine by Sun Kyoung Kim, called Between Two.  It is a ring designed to be worn by by two people at once.  I love the romantiscm behind this one.  You can read a bit more about Sun’s ideas behind her work here: http://www.contemporarycraft.org/The_Store/Kim,_Sun_Kyoung.html

kim

My last favourite I want to share is by Kim Eric Lilot and is called Tribute to a Genius.  It is in fact two rings and I adore both of them and even though I usually prefer white metals, I would wear both of these rings in a heartbeat.  You can see more of Kim’s work here http://www.kimericlilot.com/

lelot

I hope that you have enjoyed my review, get yourself a copy, add to a wishlist or let that special person know ahead of your birthday, anniversary or just for a treat – you won’t be disappointed.

Take care of yourselves and your friends and family.

TTFN

Dee
WingSmith’s Beaded Creations

Leave a Reply

